It all started with chickens…

We moved to the country in 2008. We did not make this decision lightly. We loved our house and we liked being close to anything we could need or want, but we felt stifled. We had neighbors that were so close we could see in their windows. We were in a good neighborhood, but there seemed to be crime in every direction. We were raising our daughter, with our son on the way, and we knew we had to make a change. So, we began our search. It was my husband, Chris, not the realtor who found our house. When we pulled into the driveway and I saw the red front door and beautiful brick patio in the backyard, I knew it was going to be our home. We fell in love with the house immediately and started the process of buying it….in September of 2008 we started our move.  Our house is an old farmhouse, built in 1900, sitting on 3.5 acres. We absolutely love it….we may not love all of the interior designs of the previous owners, but we will get that tackled a little at a time. We love that our nearest neighbor is a mile away. We love that in the summer time, with the corn up all around us, we are fairly hidden. It is wonderful to have peace and quiet…to let the kids run outside and enjoy their lives. My husband had many plans for our new home and land. I was against all of them. I was adamantly against getting any kind of animals. I did not want to be a “farmer.” I believe I told my husband, “I will NEVER own animals besides our dogs and cat.” HA!

In the Fall of 2010, I got the idea in my head that we needed chickens. I wanted to have farm fresh eggs. Many people I know were against it (they all thought we had too much on our plates already), but my husband who was glad that I was starting to think his way, was right on board. We talked about it throughout the winter, but never made any decisions. One Sunday in April, after my mom had left from a weekend visit, my husband looked at me and said, “let’s go get some chickens.” I was happy, but ridiculously nervous at the same time. I had absolutely no idea how to raise chickens. We bought 10 Buff Orpington chicks. They were adorable…it was impossible not to fall in love with them. It was still somewhat chilly out, so we had them in our house. They stayed inside with us for 6 weeks or longer, growing bigger at an amazing rate. They are now almost ready to start laying, which will be an adventure all in itself….and I am sad to say that we have lost 5 of our hens. Losing the first one broke my heart. I was attached to them more than I would have ever imagined. Then, we lost the second, third, fourth, and fifth. I think we have learned our lesson and have them more protected from predators now, we haven’t lost one in awhile. Thank God!

I guess you could say, my new life….all started with chickens.

5 thoughts on “It all started with chickens…

    1. We think the first few were victims of hawks or some other type of bird…and we also think we may have had a raccoon stop by for a snack. Thanks for reading, I am excited but nervous at the same time.

Leave a Reply

