Who wants a turkey?

Our Murray McMurray Hatchery (http://www.mcmurrayhatchery.com/index.html) Catalog came yesterday. Maggie took it from me before I ever made it in the house. She sat on the couch and started picking out which chickens she would like to have next year. She likes all of the chickens that come from black chicks. I have to admit,  the black chicks are adorable.  I really want the Americauna’s (or Easter eggers). They lay pink, green, and blue eggs. Their eggs are so pretty and I think it would be fun for the kids to go out with me to collect eggs and be surprised that the eggs aren’t white or brown. I also really want a turkey. I am not entirely sure where this desire came from, but I think it would be fun to have the big guy (or gal) walking around the yard. My original thought process was that I wanted to get a turkey and raise it for Thanksgiving dinner. I seriously doubt that I could do that, however, since I have gotten so attached to the chickens. I can only assume that I will become super attached to the turkey as well. So, we shall see where this goes.

Last night, Chris and I pulled weeds from our brick patio. We have been overrun with them…apparently, weeds are the only thing that actually likes growing in drought-like conditions. I got sick of pulling so Chris gave me an even better job. I got to light the roots on fire. I had NO idea I would enjoy playing with fire, but I had a lot of fun. I want to do it again tonight 🙂 I must say the patio looks a ton better. We went outside with the plan to check on the chickens and somehow ended up pulling weeds. It was a very productive night!

Happy Saturday…I hope you enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

