Our trip to Curtis Orchard…

Standard

The kids, Sierra (from Golden Oldies Farm) and I went over to Curtis Orchard in Champaign on Tuesday. The kids had a fantastic time. I think they both like Sierra more than they like me ๐Ÿ™‚ Our original plan was to pick up some white peaches (at 50 percent off), but they only had one small bag, so that was a bust. We decided to go pick some apples instead. The kids absolutely loved finding and picking apples. There were only 2 varieties that we were allowed to pick, so we got some primas and ginger golds. Both type of apples are absolutely fantastic. Liam and I have already been enjoying their wonderful flavor. I had big plans to make homemade applesauce, but once I tried the apples, I decided that we would use these for snacking and get more for applesauce making ๐Ÿ™‚

We also visited their petting zoo. All they had were goats and ducks, but that was enough. Maggie and I fell in love with the goats…and we fell hard. Sierra brought tons of quarters so she let the kids feed the goats. The kids thought it was fantastic and so did the goats. Each time one of the goats came to eat out of their hands the kids giggled. So cute! Maggie absolutely adored the smallest white goat they had. She was hugging on it and loving it to pieces. After we left she said, “Can we go back there tomorrow? I know the white goat will be missing me.” Adorable. I really liked the black and white goat. He was such a cutie. Once I got home I immediately sent a ย text to my husband and told him I thought we needed a couple goats next year. We shall see how this pans out. I also discussed the possibility of owning goats with my SIL who is a veterinarian. She gave me some great advice and things to think about. I would love having goat’s milk and be able to make my own cheese, but I am not sure if I am ready to be tied to the house to milk them twice daily. Things to think about for sure. I will keep you all up to date on my thoughts regarding this topic. I am excited about all of the new opportunities that are in our future.

The kids had an excellent time exploring all of the sights and sounds, here are a couple of pictures.

Goodbye Curtis Orchard…we will meet again!!

 

3 responses »

  1. Love the photos! ๐Ÿ™‚ Especially the giant rocking chair, can I have one of those for myself! I do have a fruity question, I’m having trouble keeping my peaches, I buy several from the farmers market, yet they seem to go mushy by day 2, any suggestions? Love the posts!

    • I don’t have any tips on how to keep them from going mushy, but once they are mushy you could make (and can) some peach jam…I know there are some freezer jam recipes out there too. Oh–and the other day I saw a recipe for peach cobbler cupcakes. I am sure those would be tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love the pics! I don’t know if it would taste the same, since they would probably be different goats from a different region, eating different grass, etc., but the milk we drank in Jamaica was all goats milk and it was the BEST EVER! Very sweet and I think it’s supposed to be good for you (don’t quote me).

Leave a Reply

