Garlic, Garlic, and more Garlic…

If you are wondering what I have been up to lately, this blog is for you. I am trying desperately to get all of the garlic cleaned and the cloves taken off to be planted (very soon!). It is not hard work, but it is definitely tiresome. I am basically doing it by myself, which means I have dishes from two days ago still in my sink and a laundry room full of clothes that need to be washed, but I figure those things can wait…garlic is definitely my top priority right now (well, besides the children.)

We began with 22 crates holding 11 different varieties of garlic. I am almost finished with my 4th crate. I honestly thought it would be a faster process. It is getting done, though, and that is the most important thing. Chris has a goal of planting on October 1st, so I have about a week to get it done. I WILL make it happen πŸ™‚

I begin by bringing a crate in the house from the workshop. They are each about 30 pounds or so. Then, I start peeling each one. I don’t have to peel them down to the bare garlic (thankfully) but I do have to get them as clean as possible. Then I break them apart. It seems easy, which it is….but each step takes time.

One of the wonderful positives is that we have been eating A LOT of garlic. We are trying each variety out so we can accurately describe the flavor profile to people. We have been having a lot of pasta….steak with garlic on top…and my new favorite thing: peas, garlic, onions, and mushrooms. YUM!!

I will keep you all posted as planting begins. Thanks for following us on our journey.

And one last random thing, our hens have gotten the hang of laying in their boxes. Yay! We are getting 3-4 eggs a day.

4 thoughts on “Garlic, Garlic, and more Garlic…

  1. This is awesome! You’re going to get the cloves all peeled and separated, just keep up with the positive attitude! You can do it Amanda!!!

    1. Actually, you can’t really smell the garlic unless you peel it down too far. I was worried I would have a constant garlic scent, but that hasn’t been the case. We are slowly, but surely getting things done. We got four crates done yesterday. I have such a wonderful family and one of our investors came to help as well….it was a beautiful day to sit outside and work on the garlic. We decided that next year we will send out invites to people and have a huge potluck get together and attempt to get it all done in one day. Sounds good to me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

