Homemade Vanilla…

I have been researching quite a few homemade projects for Christmas gifts. Last week I ran across a recipe for homemade vanilla (http://whipperberry.com/2011/09/holiday-neighbor-gift-homemade-vanilla-extract.html). I had never really thought about making it, but once I saw how incredibly easy it was, I thought it was time for me to give it a try. I ordered my vanilla beans (from Beanilla Trading Company) and some pretty containers and waited for it all to arrive. The beans came super fast, but I didn’t received the jars until today. I was beyond excited. I hopped right up and started the process.

The recipe calls for 2 vanilla beans per an 8 oz container. Each bean is slit lengthwise and placed in the container. Then, the beans are covered in vodka (8 oz). I have read that you can use a variety of liquors and can even make a gluten free vanilla, but I stuck with the simple ole vodka. I didn’t have a ton of vodka at the house…so, in the middle of the day, I put both kids in the car and ran to our small (our town has 900 people) grocery store to buy 2 bottles of vodka. I felt like the mother of the year :) For some reason, I felt like I had to explain why I was buying two bottles of vodka with two small children in tow.

Once you have them covered with vodka, seal, and put away for 2-3 months. Every few days the bottles need a good shake and that is about it. After the alloted time the beans are strained out and you should have some wonderful pure vanilla. I can’t wait to see how it all turns out.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Vanilla…

Leave a Reply

