Homemade Laundry Soap…

I have been saying for quite some time that I was going to make laundry soap, but I never got around to doing it.Today I finally did. The actual part of making the soap is super easy…it is finding the ingredients that caused me issues today. I started out at Hobby Lobby looking for a big glass container to put the soap in when I finished mixing it. I found one, but it was 60 dollars. There is no way I am spending 60 bucks on a container to hold laundry soap, so I called Chris for suggestions. A very nice lady overheard me and mentioned that Wal-mart had them and they were significantly cheaper. Awesome. The kids and I then went to Target to fill some prescriptions and saw a very nice glass jar there, but didn’t buy it because I figured Wal-mart would have one. So, off to Wal-mart we went…..I found everything I needed there except the Super Washing Soap, the Fels Naptha (there was a place for it, but no item), and THE GLASS CONTAINER! They were out of the size I needed. We trekked back to Target to see if they had the two items I still needed and to purchase the glass jar that I should have gotten the first time 🙂 Target didn’t have the ingredients either…Fail. By this time the kids were getting annoyed with me so we went to lunch while I thought of a new game plan. I figured the kids could probably tolerate one more store before meltdowns began. I considered Kroger (which was right across the street) or driving across town for Farm & Fleet. I went with the easiest option-Kroger. And guess what?! Kroger made my day by having the last items I needed to check off my list. I got home and immediately mixed everything together. It smells awesome and I can’t wait to use it. I will report back on how it works.

Here is the blog that I got the recipe from: http://beingcreativetokeepmysanity.blogspot.com/2010/11/homemade-laundry-soap.html#comments

Here are the ingredients:

And the finished product:

4 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Soap…

  1. I maid this same Laundry Soap like 2 weeks ago but I also put some Downy Unstopables in mine so I don’t have to use softner….I love this soap!!!

  2. Awesome….good to know. It looks like it will last awhile. I didn’t really have laundry to do, but I put together a load just to try it out. Anxiously awaiting the results.

  3. I’m making some next week! I’m tired of spending $20/month on laundry detergent…. And unfortunately, we really do go through that much laundry – 3 kids, 2 who are boys, all in sports most seasons. 15 loads/week average. I can’t WAIT to see how this stuff works!

Leave a Reply

