Mother’s Day at the Strawberry Patch…

Mother’s Day weekend is always such a busy time around our house. Maggie’s ballet recital always falls on this weekend and we are also prepping for her birthday. Too many things to do and very little time. Because we are so busy with other things Mother’s Day kind of gets overlooked. My awesome friend, Sierra, noticed that I needed to get out of the house and do something that would put a smile on my face. She called and asked me to head to the berry patch with her. So, the kids and I quickly jumped in the car and went on our way. We are always excited to get local food, but it is even better when we are able to pick it ourselves.

We drove down to Taylorville, not completely sure if the patch was going to be open. When we pulled up the drive we saw a few people sitting outside and some others in the field. We were elated. The kids each grabbed a pint sized container and Sierra and I each grabbed two flats that held 10 lbs a piece. We outlasted people that were there before us and lots of people that came after us. We had so much fun. The kids picked and played and Sierra and I giggled and squealed in excitement over the numerous amount of berries we were getting.

 

Last Summer Liam didn’t like strawberries, but he was interested in trying them again. He loved them! The owner told us to try a few while we were picking….Liam did and had fun doing it.

The kids loved having their pictures taken with their berries. Maggie poured her container full into my flat a couple of times and was proud of her accomplishment. Liam didn’t pick as many, but he didn’t care. He was just enjoying the atmosphere.

 

In the end, we got about 20 lbs of strawberries. I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted to do with them, so I stemmed them all and froze them….perhaps I will make jam later. I wouldn’t have thought of it, but Lynn Jackman gave me the idea and I love it. So much easier to make the jam when I have the time rather than rushing to do it now. So, thanks Lynn!

Let me leave you with a wonderful thing my daughter (who is almost 5) said yesterday, “We should help the Earth, the Earth can’t help itself.” It makes my heart happy to know that my children are understanding and listening to me even when I am not speaking 🙂

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day at the Strawberry Patch…

  1. have a question for you on this future project of yours. when and if you do your jam, you froze your berries. did you clean them completely like you were ready to eat these now or how did you do your freezing till ready.

    1. I cleaned them, stemmed them and froze them whole in freezer bags. If I decide to make jam later I will just need to make sure they are thoroughly thawed out before starting the process.

      1. ok thanks wasnt sure about this did u add any sugar or like a fruit fresh to them before freezing them. i use to can with my grandmother but that has been yrs ago and i honestly couldnt remember. thanks

Leave a Reply

