Freezer Tomato Sauce…

Standard

This is the second time I have made this recipe and I truly love it. It is fairly simple and it tastes delicious.

Start off with about 6 lbs of tomatoes. The recipe calls for roma tomatoes, but I added some variety this time. Cut off the stems,  I cored the big ones at the same time.

 

In a large pan heat olive oil, onions, and celery….which to me is one of the best smells in the whole world. It reminds me of my grandma’s stuffing that she used to make at Thanksgiving every year (Now I have the honor.)

 

After 5-10 minutes or when the onions are soft, add the tomatoes,sugar, salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 45 minutes. Then add the herbs. The recipe calls for oregano and thyme, but I threw some basil in for good measure 🙂

 

Cool a little. Then, put the sauce in small batches into a food processor or blender and puree until you get the consistency you’d like. I don’t puree mine too long. Pour into a bowl and cool. Transfer to freezer safe containers. I use ziploc bags because they are easy to store.

 

 

Here’s the recipe:

From the Better Homes and Gardens Canning Special Magazine:

6 lbs of ripe roma tomatoes (I used a variety)

2 Tablespoons olive oil or vegetable oil

1 1/2 cup chopped onions (3 medium onions)

1 stalk of celery, chopped

3 large cloves of garlic, minced

2 teaspoons sugar

1 to 2 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)

2 Tablespoons fresh oregano or 2 teaspoons dried crushed oregano

2 Tablespoons thyme or 2 teaspoons dried crushed thyme

 

‎1. Wash tomatoes. Remove stems. To peel tomatoes, bring 4 inches of water to boiling in a large saucepan, immerse tomatoes, a few at a time, into boiling water for 30 to 60 seconds or until the skins start to crack. Immediately dip tomatoes into cold water. Remove cores. Coarsely chop tomatoes. Measure 10 cups chopped tomatoes (I am doing more….and just altered the amount of each ingredient, since it isn’t a precise canning recipe and it is getting frozen.

 

2. In an 8 quart heavy pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add onions, garlic, and celery. Cook for about 5 minutes or until tender. Add the tomatoes, sugar, salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, simmer, uncovered 45 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in oregano and thyme (i use basil too). Simmer, uncovered for 15 minutes. Cool slightly.

 

3. In a food processor, cover and process tomato mixture, one fourth at a time, until sauce is desired texture. Transfer sauce to a large bowl. Place bowl in a ink filled with ice water; stir mixture to cool.

 

4. Transfer to pint-sized freezer safe containers; leaving 1/2 headspace. Seal and label. Freeze for up to 6 months.

One response »

  1. I made this and I love it! I picked up 6 1/2 lbs. of tomatoes and garlic and onions from a local chemical-free farmer. Snipped my own basil and oregano from my garden. I roasted the tomatoes first to get a light roasted flavor infused into the sauce. Thanks for sharing, it’s super-duper easy but tastes like it was cooking all day :0)

Leave a Reply

