1 Year…

I cannot believe it has been a year already. Where has the time gone? I feel like I just started writing about our adventures here on the farm. It has been an interesting year and I hope you have enjoyed reading my posts as much as I have writing them. Thank you for reading. I really appreciate it.

Since it has been a year, I thought Iย  would do a giveaway….Comment on this post telling me what you have enjoyed most about my blog and I will enter you for 2 free bars of homemade soap from Old Barn Soap Company (my soap business). Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you.

 

 

 

**Giveaway ends at 12:00 am CST on 8/13/2012. Only residents of the US are eligible to win. Winner can choose fromย any bars of soap from the stock I have on hand. Thanks!

13 thoughts on “1 Year…

  1. I enjoy your recipes the most with the photos! I’m going to give your Freezer Tomato Sauce a go, probably next weekend. Looks delicious and easy enough to do — since I’m a garlic lover, I’ll add some of that to the recipe!

    Secondly, the stories of your chickens with the hidden eggs and the garlic! You have a ton of it! I have a friend who is a garlic farmer. I think they planted 30,000 last fall and had a great harvest this year as well. She also sells to local restaurants and at a few farmers markets and makes garlic powder and garlic flakes. What I read on your blog sounds similar to what she says HA! The bundling is the most difficult and time consuming of all.

    1. I think you’ll love the tomato sauce. It smells SO good cooking. I need to go out to the garden today and get more tomatoes. The Romas seem to be the only thing growing in this drought.

      1. Glad to hear your tomatoes are doing well…mine must have set the snooze way too many times because I haven’t gotten even one yet. They are still small and green. I will pick up some tomatoes from some of my favorite chemical-free farmers at the market on Saturday so I can try your Freezer Tomato Sauce recipe! Thank you for your blog :0)

    1. Thanks, Candi. The kids do have a good time out here on the farm…too bad it has been so intensly hot this summer to do much.

  2. I honestly enjoy all your posts about life on the farm. If I have to pick a couple though, they would be : all the info you give on buying local, growing your own foods and making your own soap. I also enjoy the different farms and orchards you take the kids to. I realize that my kids are missing out on some of these non-expensive “field” trips. That will change. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. We love our non-expensive field trips….with Maggie going to Kindergarten this year I don’t know how many we will be able to do. Maybe Liam and I will have some special dates. You guys could come too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I like the making Butter,LOL Who knew that you could shake your cream too much. I enjoy your updates and hope your kids are enjoying summer and all the new things they are learning.

    1. Glad to hear you have gotten some ideas, Susan…that’s my goal….make other people want to do some of the things I am doing ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. you make things seem so simple and easy to do. i just enjoy reading your stories. and just wish that i was this talented to be able to do. keep the stories coming.

  5. I enjoyed the field trips to see all the animals. Gives me lots of good ideas where to take Ellie when she gets a bit bigger ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

