Tomato Basil Jam…

So far in my canning journey I have not canned tomatoes. I was under the assumption that I had to have a pressure canner to do so. I was wrong. I had skipped all of the tomato recipes in my canning books before, but finally went back to check them out. I found quite a few hot water bath canning recipes. This morning I decided to try making tomato basil jam. We had an abundance of roma tomatoes, so I figured I better do something with them. This jam recipe is super easy. The only time consuming part is peeling the tomatoes.

Our basil is no longer doing well, so I got some amazing smelling basil from my friend Sierra. It made the whole kitchen smell great.

Here is the jam….it is really pretty and tastes good too 🙂

 

 

Here’s the recipe I used:

Tomato Basil Jam
from SB Canning
(makes approximately 6 1/2 cups)
2 1/2 lbs fresh ripe tomatoes, peeled and finely diced
1/2 cup bottled lemon juice
4 tbs fresh chopped basil
3 cups sugar
1 package powdered low sugar pectin
Place the chopped tomatoes into a medium nonreactive pot.
Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.
Reduce heat to simmer.
Simmer, covered for 10 minutes, stirring often.
Add the lemon juice and basil.
Stir to combine.
Add the sugar.
Stir to combine.
Increase heat and return mixture to a boil, stirring often.
Add the pectin.
Stir to combine.
Return to a full rolling boil.
Boil for 1 minute.
Remove from heat.
Quickly skim off any foam.
Place hot jam in hot sterilized jars.
Leave 1/4″ headspace.
Wipe the rims of the jars.
Adjust two piece lids.
Water bath process quarter and half pints for 10 minutes at sea level and adjust the processing time as necessary based on altitude.
One thought on “Tomato Basil Jam…

Leave a Reply

