Wow- It has been awhile!

Standard

A friend of mine mentioned that I needed to start blogging again. I have gone through a couple of bad years and hadn’t even given the blog a second thought. I’m in a much better place now and thought I should consider starting it up again. Today, when I opened it, I noticed that I have not blogged in 2 years. It seems like that time has completely flown by.

What have we been up to in the past two years?! Well, Maggie has gone from Kindergarten to 2nd grade. She loves school, her teacher, and our church. She has given up ballet for a new interest–soccer. She will start playing soccer in September. Liam is no longer in Pre-School and started Kindergarten just yesterday. He didn’t think he would like going to school full time, but woke up this morning excited to start a brand new day at school. He loves dinosaurs and playing Disney Infinity. I look forward to seeing how this school year progresses for both of them.

Chris is working a LOT less hours. He no longer has to work overtime, weekends, or holidays. We have gotten used to having him at home and are very grateful that we can spend quality time as a family.

As for me, I started working VERY part-time at the kid’s school in the Fall of 2012 as an assistant to the main secretary. Last school year, they had me continue working to learn what the full-time secretary does so that I could fill in for her if it was ever needed. I definitely did not learn everything, but I can handle the office (for the most part) for a day or two by myself. Also, last fall I started working at our local public library. I love meeting new people in our small town and learning about our history. Currently, I am working both jobs, though my hours at the school have increased as I have been asked to be the Administrative Assistant to our school board. All I can say is that I should be VERY busy this year 🙂

I should have lots to post about in the next few weeks. We will be painting and re-doing the entire first floor of our home. I am extremely excited that I will finally have most of my home put together instead of living in total chaos.

I have also started a weight loss journey. I gave up drinking soda in May (2014) and began counting my calories. I completed a 30 day squat challenge and have started a Couch to 5K plan with a few friends. I have lost 16 lbs and would like to lose 45 more. If there is any interest, I will blog about this as well.

And finally, I deleted my Facebook app on my phone just this morning. I felt like I was being consumed by it. I was constantly checking and updating and worried I would either offend someone or say the wrong thing. It was taking entirely too much energy and was becoming a detriment to my life. I am hoping, at some point, I can ease myself back in to it because I do like to keeping in touch with friends and family. I will see how it goes.

Well, that is my life in a nutshell. I look forward to writing more in the future!

One response »

Leave a Reply

