17 lbs and counting…

There was a moment at the end of the school year (in May) when I woke up and realized that I desperately needed to lose weight. I was constantly tired and every little thing was difficult. I began by immediately cutting out soda. I was drinking 4 or 5 cans of soda a day. I knew it would be hard, but it was a challenge I was willing to take on. I gave up soda on May 13 and have not had one since. The first week was terrible. I had headaches that were migraine level, but migraine medicine didn’t come close to making them disappear. It was a rough few days, that’s for sure!

A few days after I gave up soda, Chris asked me to start a 30 day squat challenge with him. I was not excited about participating in this, but I gave it a go. On Day 1 I had to do 50 squats and I found that difficult. Two weeks into the challenge, Chris quit. It was hard for me to keep going when I really wanted to finish the program together, but I think that his quiting is actually the reason that I kept going. I wanted to prove to him that I was strong and I COULD finish. There were days when doing 40 squats in a row was difficult and required a little break, but there were other days when I knocked out 200 in a row. It felt absolutely amazing to finish Day 30 and know that I did 250 squats–just me! I didn’t quit.

Not long after I finished my squat challenge I started using the MyFitnessPal app to count calories. Counting calories isn’t easy by any means, but it is vitally important in my weight loss journey. I have been counting calories for 60 days now. I am allotted 1720 calories a day. 1720 calories is actually a lot when you are eating the right foods. My problem from before I started counting calories was that I ate as much as I wanted. If I wanted 5 pieces of pizza, I ate them. I don’t starve myself now or deny myself certain foods, but I do limit how much of those foods I eat. I will have ONE piece of pizza or I will have ONE serving of mashed potatoes, but I don’t go overboard. Allowing myself to eat the things I like and not completely cutting out everything bad for me has really helped me stay on track. If I had switched from being completely unhealthy to only ever eating healthy things I truly believe I would have given up weeks ago.

Losing weight isn’t easy for me, but I am finally determined to have a healthier life. I want to be able to run around with my children and I want to see them grow up. What better motivation is there?!? Speaking of motivation, this past weekend I went to my parent’s house and as soon as I got out of the car my dad was telling me how awesome I looked. I heard positive comments from my mom, grandma, and aunt as well. Nothing makes me more pumped up than positive comments from others. It felt great to tell them I had lost 17 pounds and am hoping to lose 40 more. It will be a long journey, but it is totally worthwhile. Thanks for coming along for the ride 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

