Busy weekend…

After I reached my 20 pound goal last Friday, I decided that I was going to sign up for a 5K. I chose one that is a couple months away (November 22) so that I could spend that time training. I would absolutely love to be able to run the whole thing, but I am not sure if that is possible. I will feel accomplished if I run *most* of it. So, on November 22 Chris and I will be heading to Decatur for the Turkey Trot. I am pretty excited, but nervous too 🙂

Once I gave up soda and started counting my calories, I was amazed at how much prettier and girly I felt. I started wearing make-up again and fixing my hair. It is crazy to me how making a few changes in my life started sparking more and more changes. I was having a pretty crappy hectic week last week and was so excited when my ipsy bag came in the mail. Ipsy is make-up subscription that I get monthly. I filled out a quiz about my eye color, hair color, complexion, etc as well as the type of make up I like and am interested in. Every month I get a bag filled with 5 or so full-sized and sample-sized make-up items. It only costs 10 dollars (shipping is included) and it is like getting a Christmas present in the mail every month. This month I was super excited to get a new eye shadow brush, eye liner, lip gloss, eye shadow, and a deep conditioning hair mask. Every month is different and it is so much fun to try new things out. Obviously, not everything will be a winner–I once received electric blue glitter liquid eye liner. Yikes! But, all in all it makes me super happy 🙂

 

September Ipsy bag.
September Ipsy bag.

We had a pretty busy weekend filled with play dates galore. Our friend’s were out of town this weekend and had a rotating schedule for people to watch the four children that stayed here (they took their baby with them). I had the kids after school until dinner time on Friday and after church until dinner time on Sunday. My kids love having people over so they were pretty excited and content. We also had another friend’s daughter over all day Saturday. My friend was coaching Volleyball at a tournament. I don’t think we have ever had so many play dates right in a row. Like I said, the kids thought it was the best weekend ever. I don’t feel like I got a ton accomplished, but we did rip out the carpet in one of our upstairs bathrooms (yes, you read that correctly–the people who lived in our house before us had carpet in their bathrooms–and kitchen too!). We also picked tons of tomatoes from the garden and decided we would make spaghetti sauce to freeze. It didn’t seem like such an event until I realized how many tomatoes I had to boil/cool/peel. Chris was a great help. I just hope it tastes as good as it looked 🙂

Peeling tomatoes for the spaghetti sauce. What a chore!!
Peeling tomatoes for the spaghetti sauce. What a chore!!

My hands still smell like garlic today–even after 24 hours, multiple hand washes, and a shower.

Having SO many tomatoes meant we needed a ton of onions, garlic, and a few bits of carrot.
Having SO many tomatoes meant we needed a ton of onions, garlic, and a few bits of carrot.

In other news, we bought Doritoes as a side for lunches since we had quite a few children in our house over the weekend. I am proud to say that I have not eaten a single chip. It hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it would be, but there are times I feel like the bag is calling out to me. Ha!

After a long weekend, last night my friend in Colorado sent me a beautiful picture of the sunset with Pikes Peak in the background. I sent her a picture of my view–

My view.
My view.

My view may not include the moutains, but spending the evening with my husband is the only place I’d like to be!

 

2 thoughts on “Busy weekend…

Leave a Reply

