I’ve got a secret…

Standard

A few weeks ago I started going to the gym for additional workouts besides the classes I take with an instructor.  My friend Angie and I began doing more weight training and speedwork on the treadmill.  It was nice to get in the gym and add in new workouts.  I realized I really enjoyed it so I asked Chris if he would be willing to train with me at the gym as well.  He agreed and we started doing heavier weights.  We are doing a beginner’s plan,  but we are working on bench press,  deadlift, squats with weight, and upright rows. I’m impressed with how quickly I’m progressing.

So,  here’s my secret….

I LOVE LIFTING! I really do… I feel strong and I’ve never felt like this before.  I also love that I’m spending time with my husband while I’m getting healthier.  It’s a win/win situation.

Chris also agreed to work with me on increasing my speed on outside runs.  We started last Saturday,  committing to once a week.  Last Saturday’s run was a hot mess. It felt like I had never run before in my life.  I was embarrassed.

Fast forward to Friday night…I knew we were busy on Saturday with an out of town wedding,  so I didn’t expect we would have time to get our training run in on Saturday morning.  After dinner on Friday,  I asked Chris if he would go on a walk with me.  It looked like it was going to pour rain at any second, but I wanted to try to get 3.1 miles in any way. We made it about 1.5 miles and I just started running….. no pressure at all from Chris…. no expectations.  I just wanted to run.  I was running further than usual before taking walk breaks and I found myself energized.  I started pushing myself and running faster and faster. It was an amazing feeling.  It was my best run to date and it started out as a walk.

I planned to get home from the wedding last night and get on the treadmill,  but my back was hurting from being in the car and I decided to give myself a much needed rest day.

I feel so much better and it shows…

FB_IMG_1499037407637

Today we hit the gym, got our weights in,  and then I did 3.1 on the treadmill.  It’s crazy hot outside!

I’m excited to be moving toward my goals…

20170702_180919

I hope everyone has a wonderful week.  I just want you to all know that you can absolutely do anything you put your mind to. Set a goal and crush it!

 

Leave a Reply

