Things have changed…

I really can’t say when things changed. I don’t know that exact moment when I no longer dreaded getting up and heading to the gym. I can’t pinpoint when making changes to my eating habits became easier. I may not be able to establish a timeline for these events, but it happened. Things have changed.

I haven’t taken a day off from exercising since July 1st and the only reason I skipped that day was because we had a wedding to attend out of town. Working out has become my routine. If I am not at the gym, I am on the treadmill or the roads around our little town. When I am not in the gym I am thinking about being in the gym. Danita has created a monster, but I like this monster and have invited her to stay. 🙂

Yesterday, I looked at Chris and said (for the first time in my entire life), “I am really starting to like my body!” I know I still have a lot of work ahead of me, but I love how strong my legs are. I love that I can feel muscles in my arms and back. I love the shape my face has taken on. When asked before what I liked about my body, my answer would always simply be my green eyes. While I am still rather partial to my eyes, I have found so many things about myself that I love. And it doesn’t just stop with my appearance. I am finding the more my physical body changes, the more my mental state does as well. I am not saying I have everything figured out or that I won’t ever complain about my body again, but this is a huge step in the right direction for me. Happiness looks good on me!

In other news, I kept up my 10,000 steps every day last week and intend to do the same this week. I walked every day and did my normal classes at the gym, but added in a kickboxing class on Saturday. I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it, but it was something I had always wanted to try. I really enjoyed it. I wish I could fit it into my schedule a little easier, but I will go as often as I can manage.

amanda

Oh, and don’t tell Danita or Julie Wubben, but I actually like yoga. I even bought myself a yoga mat and am attempting to get my husband to do yoga with me at home (and maybe a class too!)

I hope you all have a great week and can move closer to loving all of the pieces of yourself…every little one.

Leave a Reply

