A wedding and a challenge complete…

Standard

Last weekend,  Chris and I traveled to Wisconsin for my dear friend, Abby’s, wedding.  It was a gorgeous weekend.  The weather was cool and the location was beautiful.  It was rustic and perfect for an outdoor wedding and reception.  We even got to spend time with some old friends. (Thanks for the awesome picture,  Janette!)

I was a bridesmaid and spent most of the weekend with Abby, her mom, and the other ladies in the wedding.  We got our hair and make up done.  I was nervous because I was scheduled to get mine done first at 7:30 am, but there was nothing to be concerned about because everything stayed on wonderfully.  Let me just say,  I have NEVER had self confidence…. never. I’ve always felt bad about my body and the way I look,  but that make up artist was a magician.  I seriously loved the way I looked when she was finished.  Because of her,  I’m playing around with new make up and spending a little more time on myself 🙂 

I did manage to get my 10,000 steps in before the wedding.  I got out of bed at 5:30 and went for a walk. I ended up getting over 4 miles that morning.  Abby joined me for a little while and I really enjoyed some one on one time since we rarely get to see each another.  All in all it was a great weekend.  Abby was a beautiful bride and I am proud that I got to be a part of her day. 

When I left the reception on Saturday night,  I got a pounding headache.  It was awful and stayed around for a few days.  Once I got home, stomach issues decided to join the party.  Needless to say, it was not a good week for working out. I did get mileage in every day, walking on the treadmill, but I didn’t spend a lot of time at the gym.  

My mom was visiting this week and she joined me for a walk. I think she regretted it right after we started,  but she kept on moving.  At one point we passed my friend and neighbor, Kathy.  I love how active our little neighborhood is. 

As I have mentioned before,  I participated in a 200 miles of Summer challenge.  It started on May 27 and ends in early September.  At first,  I was really slacking and figured I would head into September with 75 miles left,  which would be impossible…. but,  July brought a determination my way that I had never experienced before.  I got mileage every single day (except the 1st) and did the same in August.  So,  I finished my challenge ahead of schedule.  I got my last miles in on Friday morning with my friend Jamie. I’m so thankful for this challenge because it really made me step up my game.  I’m signing up for another one for Fall,  which will begin in September. 

In other news,  my friend’s and I have scheduled races every month for the rest of the year.  I love planning ahead and having something to work toward.  I’m so thankful that I have such wonderful friends in my life who are working to be better and helping me achieve my goals!

Leave a Reply

